This post was originally published on this site

SPRINGFIELD — The city will not need a preliminary election in September as all 30 people who returned nomination papers have been certified to be on the November final ballot for the City Council and School Committee races.

Election Commissioner Gladys Oyola-Lopez confirmed the election slate for the 2021 city ballot on Wednesday following the deadline for nomination papers.

There is no mayor’s race on the 2021 ballot, as Mayor Domenic J. Sarno is mid-way through a four-year term.

Meanwhile, Ward 1 Councilor Gumersindo Gomez, who has served as the ward councilor since March to fill the seat vacated by his son Adam Gomez, chose not to seek election in November. The council chose Gumersindo Gomez to fill the seat after Adam Gomez vacated office due to his election as state senator.

Gumersindo Gomez said he “gave it a taste,” but will end his service on the council at the end of the year due to significant responsibilities with veterans service at the local, state and national level. He had not made up his mind in March if he would run for the seat this year.

“And I’m too old to do the job,” Gomez said. “We need new young fresh blood.”

Maria Perez, who serves on the School Committee, is running instead for the council Ward 1 seat, and is unopposed on the ballot.

Other councilors who are unopposed for council are Michael Fenton in Ward 2, Marcus Williams in Ward 5, and Timothy Allen in Ward 7.

Ward 8 Councilor Orlando Ramos is not seeking re-election due to his election last November as state representative. The Ward 8 seat has two people certified for the ballot, Zaida I. Govan and Lisa M. Thompson.

All five at-large councilors are on the ballot: Sean Curran, Justin Hurst, Jesse Lederman, Kateri Walsh and Tracye Whitfield. They face opposition from five non-incumbents: Juan J. Caraballo III, Debra Fletcher, Juan F. Latorre III, Michael Kelly Lee, and James Ryan.

A preliminary would have been required if there was more than 10 candidates, more than two per seat.

Other candidates certified are:

City Council:

Ward 3 — Melvin A. Edwards, incumbent, and Lezlie Braxton Campbell, challenger.

Ward 4 — Malo L. Brown, incumbent, and Jynai McDonald.

Ward 6 — Victor G. Davila, incumbent and Bob Collamore, challenger.

School Committee:

At large — Denise Marie Hurst, and Latonia Naylor, both incumbents, and Cary Curley, challenger, for two at-large seats.

District 1 — Joesiah I. Gonzalez, unopposed. Incumbent Maria Perez not seeking re-election.

District 2 — Barbara Gresham, incumbent, and Christy Ann Torres, challenger.

District 3 — Christopher Collins, incumbent, unopposed.

District 4 — Peter Murphy, incumbent, and Ayanna C. Crawford, challenger.

Oyola-Lopez said she believes the greatest interest in this year’s election may be some of the ward and district races.

That includes the Ward 4 council race. Both Brown and McDonald had also ran for the seat in 2019, with Brown being the victor, and 2021 is “a rematch of sorts, Oyola-Lopez said.